IMG Training Sites

Overview

UBC Family Medicine is a fully accredited program with 17 different training sites distributed in 15 communities across BC.  Nine of these sites have designated IMG positions.  Each site has strong support from dedicated faculty with responsibilities in the areas of curriculum, assessment, faculty development, scholarship and behavioral medicine. Lead Program Faculty provide vital cross connections between sites, creating a strong system of educational support to Site Directors, Site Faculty, and residents.

UBC IMG Program is distributed in the following communities:

  1. Coastal Site – training based in North Vancouver, but distributed in Coastal communities (4 positions)
  2. IMG – St. Paul’s Site – training primarily located in Vancouver (13 positions)
  3. Kamloops Site – training located in Kamloops (3 positions)
  4. Kootenay Boundary Site – rural training in communities located in West Kootenay Boundary Region of South Eastern B.C (2 positions)
  5. Prince George Site – training located in Prince George (4 positions)
  6. Rural Fort St. John site – longitudinal training in a rural community (2 positions)
  7. Rural Okanagan site – first year based in Kelowna and second year in smaller rural communities (4 positions)
  8. Surrey/South Fraser Site – training based in Langley and Surrey (6 positions)
  9. Vancouver Fraser Site – training distributed in Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley (4 positions)
  10. Vancouver Island – Strathcona site – training located in small communities (Comox/Courtenay/Campbell River) on Vancouver Island – (4 positions)
  11. Victoria Site – training primarily located in Victoria (6 positions)

The sites are part of the overall family medicine program at UBC and as such, follow common policy, curriculum and overall governance as do all the family medicine training sites.

It is recognized that the IMG resident may have a very different background, undergraduate experience and post graduate training and our residency sites have been devised to recognize those characteristics. Faculty have been chosen for their previous exposure to and interest in training IMGs. In the early months of the residency, particular attention will be paid to the individual needs of each resident and some of the academic sessions are devoted to ensuring that the residents become familiar with the Canadian medical system.

We recognize the maturity of our residents and the rich diversity of experience which they bring to Canada. We encourage IMG residents to speak about and share their medical experience from their country of origin so that Canadian trained residents can learn from and about differing medical systems in the world. We believe that such diversity enriches the training for all our residents.

A Return-of-service (RoS) condition is attached to these positions.

For IMG FAQs, please click here.

View PDF VersionIMG Site Comparison PDF

Coastal

Number of residents: 4
Location: North Shore, Vancouver, various Coastal communities
Community: 250,000
Hospitals: Lion’s Gate Hospital, Pemberton Health Centre, Whistler Health Centre, Squamish General Hospital, St. Mary’s Hospital, Powell River General Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – Dean Brown – dvbrown@shaw.ca / Coordinator – Jana Ogdenova – jana.ogdenova@familymed.ubc.ca
Chief Residents: Justine Spencer jspencer@alumni.ubc.ca & Nam Phan nam.phan@alumni.ubc.ca
Please see Coastal tab for more program information

IMG – St. Paul’s

Number of residents: 13
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Community: 600,000
Hospitals: St. Paul’s Hospital, BC Women’s Hospital, Surrey Memorial Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – Alfredo Tura – alfredo.tura@familymed.ubc.ca /  Coordinator – Eva Chan – eva.chan@familymed.ubc.ca
Chief Residents: Riaz Ul Hassan – r.hassan@alumni.ubc.ca & Tamara Krivokapic – tamara.krivokapic@alumni.ubc.ca

Please see IMG – St. Paul’s tab for more program information

Kamloops

Number of Residents: 3
Location: Kamloops
Community: 91,000
Hospital: Royal Inland Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – Dr. Selena Lawrie – selenalawrie@icloud.com / Site Coordinator – Laurel Thompson – laurel.thompson@interiorhealth.ca
Chief Resident: Stephen Reid & Teghan Mood – kamloopschiefs@gmail.com
Please see Kamloops tab for more program information

Prince George

Number of residents: 4
Location: Prince George
Community: 80,000
Hospital: University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
Contacts: Director – Susan Knoll – susan.knoll@unbc.ca / Coordinator- Lisa Lakusta – lisa.lakusta@unbc.ca
Chief Residents: Taya O’Neill-Haughland & Harvir Dillon – pg.fm.chiefs@gmail.com
Please see Prince George tab for more program information

Rural Fort St. John

Number of residents: 2
Location:Fort St. John, BC
Community:18,000
Hospital:Fort St. John Hospital
Contacts:Director – Dr. Michael Wright – drmwright@pris.ca  / Coordinator – Kim Furlong – furlong@unbc.ca
Chief Resident: Kalun Boudreau- kalunb@alumni.ubc.ca
Please see Rural Fort St. John tab for more program information

Rural Okanagan

Number of residents: 4
Location: Kelowna, BC
Community: 130,000
Hospital:Kelowna General
Contacts: Director – Dr. Julie Parker – drjlparker@gmail.com / Coordinator – Janice Demers –janice.demers@interiorhealth.ca
Chief Resident: Jim Huang – jimhuang@alumni.ubc.ca & Kurt Deschner – deschk@alumni.ubc.ca
Please see Rural Kelowna tab for more program information

Surrey – South Fraser

Number of residents: 6
Location: Surrey, Langley
Community: 460,000
Hospitals: Surrey Memorial Hospital, Langley Memorial Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – Art Willms – arthur.willms@fraserhealth.ca / Coordinators – Kathleen McIntosh – kathleen.mcintosh@fraserhealth.ca & Bridget Begin – bridget.begin@fraserhealth.ca
Chief Residents: Raman Sandhu & Sarah Culkin – surreysouthfraser@gmail.com
Please see Surrey – South Fraser tab for more program information

Vancouver Fraser

Number of residents: 4
Location: Greater Vancouver
Community: 2,000,000
Hospitals: Royal Columbian Hospital, BC Women’s Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – John Edworthy – john.edworthy@fraserhealth.ca / Coordinator:  Raquel Feswick – raquel.feswick@fraserhealth.ca
Chief Residents: Alexandra Choi & Caroyn Feeley – vfschiefs@gmail.com
Please see Vancouver Fraser tab for more program information

Vancouver Island – Strathcona

Number of residents: 4
Location:Campbell River, Courtney and Comox
Community:80,000
Hospital:St. Joseph’s General Hospital, Comox and Campbell River General Hospital.
Contacts:Site Director – Dr. Peter Gee / Site Coordinator – Pam Blake pam.blake@familymed.ubc.ca
Chief Residents: Lily Edelson – lily.edelson@alumni.ubc.ca
Please see Vancouver Island- Strathcona tab for more program information

Victoria

Number of residents: 6
Location: Victoria
Community: 360,000
Hospitals: Royal Jubilee Hospital, Victoria General Hospital
Contacts: Site Director – Ron Hiebert – ron.hiebert@familymed.ubc.ca / Coordinator: Stephanie Eamergoult – stephanie.eamergoult@viha.ca
Chief Residents: Elisa Assadi – ekharazi@alumni.ubc.ca & Christina Walker – cjwalker@alumni.ubc.ca
Please see Victoria tab for more program information